Connecticut College alumni have excelled in fields from medicine to the media. 

Below is a representative sampling of those whose achievements are especially notable:

Government and politics

  • Dorcas Hardy '68: Commissioner of the Social Security Administration, 1986-89
  • Bruce Hoffman '76: Terrorism expert, director of the Center for Security Studies and Director of the Security Studies Program, Georgetown University's Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service
  • Jonathan McBride '92: Director of White House personnel
  • Suzi Oppenheimer '56: Former New York state senator


  • Marie L. Garibaldi '56: First woman to serve on the New Jersey Supreme Court
  • Drew Ketterer '71: Attorney general, Maine, 1995-2000
  • Susan Thomases '65: Attorney, former presidential adviser
  • Patricia Wald '48: Federal judge, retired; member of the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia and member of the Iraq Intelligence Commission


  • Michael Collier '76: Poet, director of the Bread Loaf Writers' Conference at Middlebury College
  • Sloane Crosley '00: Writer and essayist
  • Linda Lear '62: Author, environmentalist
  • Luanne Rice '77: Novelist, “Sandcastles” and “Beach Girls”
  • Jessica Soffer '07: Author, “Tomorrow There Will Be Apricots”


  • Anita DeFrantz '74: Olympic medalist, rowing; former vice president of the International Olympic Committee
  • Jim Gabarra '82: Olympic soccer player
  • David Gross '88: Commissioner of Major League Lacrosse
  • Bob Willis '09: Olympic windsurfer
  • Tim Young '92: Olympic medalist, sculling
  • Jeff Idelson '86: President, Baseball Hall of Fame

Science, technology and medicine

  • David Foster '77: Director, Harvard Forest
  • Susan Froshauer '74: President and CEO,Rib-X Pharmaceuticals
  • David Haussler '77: Director of the Center for Bimolecular Science and Engineering, University of California - Santa Cruz
  • Harvey Moseley '72: Senior astrophysicist, Goddard Space Flight Center, NASA
  • Mary Lake Polan '65: Chair and professor emeritus, Department of Gynecology and Obstetrics, Stanford University School of Medicine
  • Ellen R. Vitetta '64: Director of the Cancer Immunobiology Center, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center


  • Tim Armstrong '93: Chair and CEO, AOL
  • Jim Berrien '74: Partner, search firm of Bentley, Farrell, Ahl and Berrien; Forbes Magazine Group, 1999-2009; chair of the College Board of Trustees. 2009-2012
  • Barbara Shattuck Kohn '72: Principal, Shattuck Hammond Partners; former chair of the College Board of Trustees
  • Susan Kronick '73: Vice chair,Federated Department Stores
  • Trish May '75: Venture philanthropist; founder and CEO, Athena Partners
  • John Remondi '84: President and CEO, Sallie Mae
  • Peter Som '93: Fashion designer
  • Sally Susman '84: Senior vice president & chief communications officer, Pfizer Inc.

Visual/performing arts

  • Ted Chapin '72: President and executive director, Rodgers & Hammerstein Organization
  • Clap Your Hands Say Yeah (Alec Ounsworth ’00, Lee Sargent '00, Robbie Guertin '02, Tyler Sargent '00 and Sean Greenhalgh '02): Indie rock band
  • David Dorfman '81: Dancer, professor of dance at Connecticut College
  • Vance Gilbert '79: Musician
  • Agnes Gund '60: President emerita, Museum of Modern Art
  • Laurie Norton Moffat '78: Director/CEO, Norman Rockwell Museum

Television and film

  • Peggy Charren '49: Founder, Action for Children's Television
  • Charles Chun '90: Actor
  • Karen Church '90: Vice president for talent and casting, CBS Television
  • Lee Eisenberg '99: Screenwriter, “The Office”
  • Sean Fine '96: Sundance and Academy Award-winning documentary filmmaker, “War/Dance” and “Inocente”
  • Chris Gifford '81: Executive producer, creator of Nick Jr.'s "Dora the Explorer"
  • Judy Irving '68: Emmy award and Sundance-winning filmmaker
  • Andre Lee '93: Film producer
  • Leland Orser '82: Actor
  • Estelle Parsons '49: Academy Award-winning actor
  • Jessie Vogelson '96: Film and television producer, “No End in Sight”
  • Kevin Wade '76: Screenwriter, “Working Girl” and “Meet Joe Black”


  • Vincent Farrell '96: Digital media expert; global chief content officer, Havas Worldwide
  • Joshua Green '94: Senior national correspondent, Bloomberg Businessweek; Boston Globe weekly columnist
  • Amy Gross '63: Former editor-in-chief, O, The Oprah Magazine
  • Jay Lauf '86: Publisher, The Atlantic
  • Christof Putzel '01: Broadcast journalist; winner of student Academy Award for AIDS documentary, “Left Behind”
  • A.B. Stoddard '89: Journalist, political commentator
  • Kimberly Williams '90: Chief operating officer, NFL Network


  • Edward Berger '85: President, Southwestern University
  • LaShawn R. Jefferson '88:  Former executive director, Human Rights Watch women's rights division
  • Marion Rockefeller Weber '60: Philanthropist; initiator of the Flow Fund Circle