Office of Religious and Spiritual Life Ongoing Programs and Services

Fall 2016

Roman Catholic Mass with Rev. Robert Washabaugh or Rev. Jon Ficara
Sundays at 7 p.m. in Harkness Chapel

Sunday Night Fellowship with Rev. Carolyn Patierno
Sundays, 6-7:30 p.m. in Harkness Chapel, room 009 (lower level)

Christian Meditation
Mondays from 5:15-6 p.m. in Harkness Chapel

Come into the Quiet Meditation with Rev. Carolyn Patierno
One Wednesday each month (Sep. 7, Oct. 12 and Nov. 9) from 12-12:30 p.m. in Harkness Chapel

Muslim Prayer with Imam Awad Abdullah
Two Fridays each month (Nov. 4 & 18 Dec. 2 & 9)

Music in the Chapel, in Harkness Chapel
Wednesday, Oct. 19, Wendy Moy and Chorale, 12-1 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 16, Noah Shafner, 12-1 p.m.
Wednesday, Dec. 7, Lessons and Carols, 12-1 p.m. 

Office of Religious and Spiritual Life Fall 2016 Semester Services and Programs

Friday, Sept. 2 - Welcome Back Shabbat BBQ. 6 p.m. Outside Zachs Hillel House

Friday, Sept 2 – Meet and Greet gathering with Rev. Aracelis Vazquez Haye, Protestant chaplain, 4-6 p.m. Harkness Chapel Library

Sunday, Sept. 11 – Harkness Chapel open all day for quiet prayer and meditation

Wednesday, Sept. 14 – Prayers for Hope, Not Fear – guided meditation and prayers with the college chaplains, 12:15-1 p.m. in Harkness Chapel

Friday, Sept. 9 - Pizza Shabbat , 6 p.m. Zachs Hill House. Shabbat blessings and a pizza dinner in the rec. room

Friday, Sept. 9 – Muslim student community meet and greet, 7 p.m. in Harkness Chapel Library

Friday, Sept. 16 – Eid community dinner welcoming new Muslim chaplain, Awad Abdullah, 6 p.m. in 1941 Room, Crozier Williams

Friday, Sept. 16 - Shabbat Dinner & "What's On Your Mind?" Discussion. Zachs Hillel House. Catered Shabbat dinner with special guest, Marji Lipshez-Shapiro, former dean of residential life at Conn.

Friday, Sept. 23 - Welcoming Home-Cooked Shabbat. 5 p.m. Service; 6 p.m. Dinner. Zachs Hillel House Welcoming Shabbat service and festive Home-Cooked Shabbat dinner.

Sunday, Sept. 25 - Bagel Brunch. 11 a.m. Zachs Hillel House. Featuring bagels, lox and shmear.

Tuesday, Sept. 29 - Apples & Honey Table. 11 a.m.-1 p.m. Outside Cro. Get in the Rosh HaShanah spirit with traditional apples dipped in honey.

Friday, Oct. 7 - New Year's Shabbat with Rabbi Rosalind Glazer. 5 p.m. Service , 6 p.m. Dinner. Zachs Hillel House. Stories, Songs & Reflections for Rosh Hashanah, followed by a festive Shabbat dinner to celebrate the Jewish New Year.

Tuesday, Oct. 11 - Kol Nidre Service Tuesday. 5:30 p.m. Zachs Hillel House Service to begin Yom Kippur, the Day of Atonement.

Wednesday, Oct. 12 - Yom Kippur Morning Service. 11 a.m. Zachs Hillel House Service for Yom Kippur, the Day of Atonement.

Wednesday, Oct. 12 - Yom Kippur Break-the-Fast. 7 p.m. Zachs Hillel House. Meal of bagels and other foods to break the fast at the end of Yom Kippur.

Thursday, Oct. 13 - Building and Decorating the Sukkah. 4:30-5:30 p.m. Zachs Hillel House. Building and then decorating the Sukkah and decorating for the Jewish harvest festival of Sukkot.

Friday, Oct. 14 - Fall Weekend Shabbat Dinner Friday. 7 p.m. Zachs Hillel House. Shabbat dinner with parents and alumni.

Sunday, Oct. 16 - Fall Weekend Bagel Brunch. 10 a.m. Zachs Hillel House. Sunday morning brunch, featuring bagels, lox and shmear, with parents and alumni

Thursday, Oct. 17 - Chinese Dinner in the Sukkah. 6 p.m. Zachs Hillel House. Dinner in the sukkah to celebrate the beginning of Sukkot, the Jewish harvest festival

Tuesday, Oct. 18 - Sukkah Luncheon with Prof. Barry Kosmin. 12 p.m. Zachs Hillel House Luncheon with Professor Barry Kosmin who will discuss Jewish life on c a.m.pus

Thursday, Oct. 20 - Hookah & Shakshuka in the Sukkah. 8 p.m. Zachs Hillel House. Enjoy hookah and the traditional Middle Eastern dish of shakshukah in the Sukkah

Friday, Oct. 21 - Pizza in the Hut Shabbat. 6 p.m. Zachs Hillel House. Shabbat Dinner outside in the Sukkah

Sunday, Oct. 23 – Greek Orthodox prayer service with Rev. Dean Panagos, 5 p.m. in Harkness Chapel followed by dinner

Sunday, Oct. 23 – Roman Catholic community dinner. 5:30 p.m. in Harkness Chapel Library

Monday, Oct. 24 - Simchat Torah Celebration. 7:30 p.m. Zachs Hillel House. Rejoice in the Torah and then enjoy Ben & Jerry's sundaes

Friday, Oct. 28 - Freeman Shabbat. 6 p.m. Freeman Dining Hall. Enjoy Shabbat dinner in community.

Friday, Nov. 4 - Sushi Shabbat. 6 p.m. Zachs Hillel House. Shabbat Dinner with sushi

Friday, Nov. 11 - Freeman Shabbat. 6 p.m. Freeman Dining Hall. Enjoy Shabbat dinner in community.

Tuesday, Nov. 15 - Gary Shteyngart Talk (co-sponsored). 4:15 p.m. Blaustein. Book signing & discussion, refreshments served

Friday, Nov, 18 - Pizza Shabbat with the Young Emissaries from Israel. 6 p.m. ZHH Shabbat blessings, pizza dinner and Hebrew slang with the Young Emissaries from Israel

Wednesday, Nov. 23 – Thanksgiving Feast. 12-1:50 p.m. in Hood Dining Room

Friday, Dec. 2  - Pre-Chanukah Shabbat. 5 p.m. Service; 6 p.m. Dinner. Zachs Hillel House. Welcoming Shabbat service & a festive Shabbat dinner to celebrate Chanukah

Sunday, Dec. 4 - Bagel Brunch Sunday. 11 a.m. Zachs Hillel House. Sunday morning brunch, featuring bagels, lox and shmear

Monday, Dec. 5 - Gaga Demo Class & Discussion. 7 p.m. Zachs Hillel House. Dance demonstration and discussion with Israeli visiting artist, Yaara Moses

Friday, Dec. 9 - A Cappella Shabbat. 6 p.m. Zachs Hillel House. Shabbat Dinner with a performance by Miss Connduct

Tuesday, Dec. 13 – West of the Mississippi Study Break, 3-5 p.m. in Harkness Chapel Library. Quesadillas, taquitos, chips, salsa and guacamole will be served. There will be fruit and cookies for takeaway snacks.