Intellectual exchange and discussion at Connecticut College is deepened and broadened when the College periodically hosts symposia on the arts, culture, scientific research and the environment.

Established symposia:

  • The Lear-Conant Interdisciplinary Conference on the Environment, established in 2002 by a gift from Linda J. Lear '62, provides biennial conferences through the Goodwin-Niering Center for the Environment

  • The biennial Ammerman Center Symposium on Arts & Technology, a major international conference devoted to exploring the increasing links in the interdisciplinary world of arts, sciences, media, and technology.
  • The Daniel Klagsbrun Symposium on Creative Arts and Moral Vision at Connecticut College was established in 1989 by the Klagsbrun family to create a positive, living memorial to Daniel Klagsbrun '86. Through the generosity and commitment of Daniel's parents, Emilie and Herbert Klagsbrun, the symposium has brought to the College over the years an amazing array of authors, including Dorothy Allison, Margaret Atwood, Saul Bellow, Joseph Brodsky, Sandra Cisneros, Michael Cunningham, E.L. Doctorow, Jhumpa Lahiri, Wally Lamb, Colum McCann, Jay McInerney, Adrienne Rich, David Sedaris, Jessica Soffer ’07, Art Spiegelman, Amy Tan, Hannah Tinti ‘94, Elie Wiesel and Tobias Wolff.

Other symposia:


2016: "Afrofuturism and Social Justice"
2006: Cornel West's "Democracy Matters" was the inaugural event sponsored by the Center for the Comparative Study of Race and Ethnicity 
2008: "Race, Space and Memory Symposium" - the highlight of the Center's year-long celebration of "Race and the Arts"
2010: "The Health Gap: Inequality in U.S. Health Care"
2011: "Centennial Diversity Conference"

An important biennial international conference on tunable diode laser spectroscopy, TDLS, was organized for several years by Arlan Mantz, Oakes Ames Emeritus Professor of Physics.