MacPhee/McKenna Honored as Most Valuable Runners for Camels

Senior Captain Colleen MacPhee Shared Team MVP Honors with Faye McKenna
Senior Captain Colleen MacPhee Shared Team MVP Honors with Faye McKenna
NEW LONDON, Conn. --The Connecticut College women´s cross country team wrapped up its 2009 season with a team breakup and award ceremony. Head coach Ned Bishop recognized members of the team for their superlative efforts in the classroom and on the cross country trails. Senior Colleen MacPhee (Maplewood, N.J.) and junior Faye McKenna (Amston, Conn.) were recognized as the co-recipients of the most valuable runner award. MacPhee garnered All-Invitational honors in the Plansky Invitational at Williams Oct. 17 and continued to improve as the season progressed. McKenna garnered All-Invitational accolades in three different races this year and will continue to be relied on as one of the team´s leaders in 2010. Junior Melanie Poole (Middlefield, Conn.) was recognized as the team´s most improved runner. Sophomore Kerry Dermody (Erieville, N.Y.) was honored with the unsung hero award. Merry Byrne (Brookside, N.J.) was tabbed as the team´s rookie of the year. In addition to the team accolades, the following nine Camels were recognized for their academic excellence on the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) Fall All-Academic Team: Kristin Humphrey (Auburn, Maine), Nicole LaConte (Swampscott, Mass.), Colleen MacPhee, Chiara Pandolfi (Rome, Italy), Melanie Poole, Dana Silverberg (Huntington, N.Y.), Tessa Strelow (Winchester, Mass.) and Kelsey Taylor (East Hampton, Conn.). MacPhee represented the team on the NESCAC Fall All-Sportsmanship squad.

December 22, 2009

Related News & Media

Recent News