Skip to main content

4x100 Meter Relay Team Shatters its Own Record at All-New England Championship

DEDHAM, Mass.--Members of the Connecticut College Men´s and Women´s Track & Field Teams competed in the 2010 All-New England Championship this weekend. The event was hosted by Northeastern University at Solomon Stadium in Dedham, Mass. In the 4x100 meter relay, Brian Gooch (Columbia, N.H.), Alex DeShields (Melrose, Mass.), Rob Webbe (Ridgewood, N.J.) and Tommy Howd (Sudbury, Mass.) shattered their previous school record with a time of 43.97 seconds for the Camels. Sophomore Doug Wright (Darien, Conn.) posted a time of 15:45.89 in the 5k. In the 400 meter hurdles, Merry Byrne (Brookside, N.J.) posted a time of 1:08.11 for the Camels. 2010 All-NESCAC performer Marina Van der Eb (Brooksville, Maine) threw the javelin 109 feet, five inches for Connecticut College. The Camels announced their annual awards this week. The most valuable performers were senior and three-time All-American triple jumper Alex Samma (Ougadougou, Burkina Faso) and rookie standout Ali Holland (Watertown, Mass.). Sharing the honor for most improved men´s performer were sophomore Hoitt McAllister (McLean, Va.) and junior Rob Webbe (Ridgewood, N.J.). Sophomores Alison McLeod (North Eastham, Mass.) and Libby Maret (Sandy Hook, Conn.) shared the most improved performer award for the women´s squad. Sophomore Marina Van der Eb (Brooksville, Maine) and junior Tommy Howd (Sudbury, Mass.) were honored as the unsung heroes for the Camels. Brian Gooch (Columbia, N.H.) and Tim Murtagh (Rowley, Mass.) were selected as the men´s rookies of the year. Holland and Molly Pistrang (Princeton, Mass.) were awarded as the top newcomers for the women´s team. At the conclusion of the event, Head Coach Ned Bishop introduced his leadership team for the 2010-2011 season. Haley Goodwill (Marlborough, Conn.), Katherine Nadelberg (New Providence, N.J.) and Kelsey Taylor (East Hampton, Conn.) will serve as tri-captains for the Camel women. Rising junior Alex DeShields, Tommy Howd and Doug Wright will lead the men´s squad for Connecticut College.

May 8, 2010

Related News & Media

Recent News