Skip to main content

Crisafulli & Dachille Named to USILA All-America Squad for Camels Driscoll Receives Eric Bos Award

Pete Crisafulli ´10
Pete Crisafulli ´10
NEW LONDON, Conn.--The Connecticut College Men´s Lacrosse Team continues to reel in the post-season honors and accolades. Seniors Pete Crisafulli and Steve Dachille, both of Garden City, N.Y., have been named to the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) All-America Team. Crisafulli earned third team honors on defense while Dachille was recognized as an honorable mention selection on the attack. Both players were also honored as USILA Scholar All-Americans. In 1989, the USILA Scholar All-America Program was established to recognize student-athletes from USILA member institutions who have distinguished themselves academically, athletically and as citizens of their communities. After missing much of the past two seasons to injury, Crisafulli played an integral in the defensive corps, joining classmate Will Schumann as a leader for the Camels on close defense. Connecticut College Head Coach Dave Cornell praised the efforts of Crisafulli and Schumann, who made such a significant impact on the defensive side of the ball. "I was really excited for Pete," Cornell said. "We play such a team based defense. His All-America recognition is a testament to our entire unit as a whole. Pete is the most intelligent defensemen I´ve ever coached." Schumann collected 144 ground balls in his career and stepped forward as a senior tri-captain. "I was blown away by Will´s progression as a leader," Cornell said. "He really stepped up to the plate." Dachille exploded with a career-best 44 goals to lead the NESCAC in goals scored. He completed his career in a second place tie with Tom Gately ´91 on the program´s all-time goal scoring list with 127 career markers for the Camels. "Steve was the leader of our offense and a very competitive player," Cornell said. "He plays with a lot of heart and his leadership will be difficult to replace. Steve was a pleasure to coach for the past four years. When we needed to score a goal, he was our go to guy. He´s the best shooter in the NESAC, if not the nation." Senior midfielder Sean Driscoll (Peabody, Mass.) received the Erica Bos Award during commencement weekend. The award was established in 1990 to honor a Connecticut College student-athlete whose courage, motivation, and relentless determination serve as an inspiration to others. In his sophomore year with the hockey team, Driscoll suffered an ankle injury that forced him to the bench for the duration of the hockey season and sidelined him for the entire lacrosse season. But he was able to return to captain the hockey and lacrosse teams for the past two years, leading both program´s to their best records in the NESCAC era. A selfless leader, Driscoll made a seamless transition from the offensive to defensive midfield position this year and led the team with 65 ground balls. "Sean epitomizes what we´re looking for in a Connecticut College lacrosse player," Cornell said. "He´s selfless, accountable and a tremendous leader. If we can get our whole team to buy into his attitude, we´re going to win a national championship." The Camels reached the second round of the 2010 NCAA Lacrosse Championship and closed out the season with a program record 14 wins. 2010 Connecticut College Men´s Lacrosse Post-Season Honors New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association Dave Cornell-Coach of the Year Steve Dachille-First Team Attack Eric Doran-Second Team Midfield Mark Mangano-Second Team Midfield New England Small College Athletic Conference Dave Cornell-Coach of the Year Steve Dachille-First Team Attack Eric Doran-Second Team Midfield Mike O´Donnell-Second Team Long Stick Midfielder Rob Moccia-Second Team Goalie USILA Pete Crisafulli-Third Team All-America Steve Dachille-Honorable Mention All-America Crisafulli & Dachille-Scholar All-Americans Connecticut College Sean Driscoll-Eric Bos Award Winner NESCAC Spring All-Academic Team Pete Crisafulli Sean Driscoll Ryan Hayes Will Schumann NESCAC Spring All-Sportsmanship Team Will Schumann -CC-

June 3, 2010

Related News & Media

Recent News