Skip to main content

Women Win Novice Eight Regatta-Men Place Third in Novice Four

WORCESTER, Mass.--The Connecticut College rowing teams headed north for a regatta on Lake Quinsigamond in Central Massachusetts Saturday. The Camel women´s squad earned a victory in the novice eight regatta while the men´s team placed third in the novice four. The women posted a winning time of 7:43.6 in the novice eight. Smith College finished just .69 seconds off the winning time in 7:44.29. Mount Holyoke College was third (7:48.64), Holy Cross took fourth place in 7:54.12 and Trinity College posted a time of 7:56.05 to finish fifth. Seana Siekman (Bethel, Maine.) handled the stroke seat in the winning boat with Amanda Jones (Upper Arlington, Ohio) on board as her coxswain. Lila Douglis (Belmont, Mass.), Caity Sprague (Bristol, R.I.), Amy Cheetham (Monroe, Maine), Meghan McLean (Old Lyme, Conn.), Steph Timpone (Malverne, N.Y.), Emma Sherer (Providence, R.I.) and Johanna Collins (Florence, Mass.) were seated 7-1 for the Camels. The Camels posted a time of 7:42.6 to finish fourth in the varsity eight regatta. Williams College won the regatta in 6:50.7. Sophomore Lesley Gaughan (Weston, Mass.) handled the stroke seat and Maureen Sweeney (New Canaan, Conn.) was the coxswain. Janan Evans-Wilent (Ithaca, N.Y.), Mary Fergus (San Francisco, Calif.), Emily Perry (Westfield, N.J.), Sarah Brigandi (Winthrop, Mass.), Katelyn Varga (Atkinson, N.H.), Alex Heilman (Wayland, Mass.) and Abbie Schickner (Norwich, Vt.) were seated 7-1 for the Camels. In the second varsity eight, the Connecticut College Camels finished third behind Williams and Simmons College with a time of 7:40. 6. Sophomore Justine Rooney (Centerville, Mass.) handled the stroke seat and Ari Puleo (Mamaroneck, N.Y.) coxed the boat. Jessica Truelove (Bethlehem, Conn.), Hannah Brassord (Amherst, Mass.), Lucy Frye (Wenham, Mass.), Freya Lovett (Tenants Harbor, Maine), Kourtney Brim (Shawnee, Kan.), Ari Merrill (Salt Lake City, Ut.) and Heidi Carothers (Sutter, Calif.) were seated 7-1. The Camels finished third in the varsity four with a time of 8:01.7. Williams College won the regatta in 7:44.0 and the Williams B boat was second in 8:00.2. WPI finished fourth behind Connecticut College in 8:23.6. Justine Rooney handled the stroke seat and Ari Puleo coxed the boat. Jessica Truelove, Hannah Brassord and Lucy Frye were seated 3-1. In the men´s novice four, the Camels placed third with a time of 7:31.6. MIT won the regatta in 7:06.6 with the WPI Engineers taking hold of second with a time of 7:08.2 in their home water. Clark University logged a time of 7:44.3 to secure a fourth place finish and the Connecticut College second novice four boat placed fifth in 8:24.9 In the boat that took third place, Rob Jubinville (Granby, Mass.) was positioned in the stroke seat with Erin McDonald (Yardley, Pa.) guiding the Camels as the coxswain. Matt Murdock (Middletown, Conn.) and John Kelly (Bronx, N.Y.) were joined by Matt Larkin (Trumbull, Conn.) in the bow seat for Connecticut College. In the second novice four boat, Alex Vancil manned the stroke seat and the boat was coxed by Marc Zhao (Chengdu, China). Luke Horton (Meredith, N.H.) and Jose Escallon (Bogota, Colombia) were joined by Adam Diamond (New York, N.Y.), who was seated in the bow.

April 12, 2010

Related News & Media

Recent News