#9 Connecticut College Women Qualify for ICSA National Dinghy Championship Brugman, Medley Garner All-New England Honors for Camels

BOSTON, Mass.--The ninth ranked Connecticut College women's sailing team has qualified for the Inter Collegiate Sailing Association (ICSA)/Sperry Top-Sider Women's National Championship. The Camels scored 229 points en route to their fourth place finish in the New England Inter Collegiate Sailing Association Championship hosted by Boston College. "We did a great job today moving past Rhode Island, the defending national champs, and holding off Dartmouth in the last race," Connecticut College Head Women's and Coed Sailing Coach Jeff Bresnahan said. The Camels will head to the Lone Star State of Texas to compete in the ICSA Sperry Top-Sider Women's National Championship. The Championship will be hosted the University of Texas on Lake Travis in Austin, Tex. from May 30-June 2. Connecticut College sophomore skipper Atlantic Brugman (Barcelona, Spain) was honored as a first team All-New England Skipper. First year crew Grace Medley (Portsmouth, R.I.) earned second team All-New England accolades for the Camels. The sixth ranked Boston College Eagles won the Reed Trophy with a winning score of 97 points. Fourth ranked Yale finished second and was followed by Brown, who shares the top ranking in the nation with Georgetown. Connecticut College took fourth place and was followed by fifth ranked Dartmouth College, the seventh ranked Rams of Rhode Island and the 15th ranked Crimson of Harvard, who all qualified for nationals by scoring in the top seven. Atlantic Brugman, Elizabeth Wilsterman (Winchester, Mass.), Claire Sacco (Glenmont, N.Y.) and Sarah Price (Freeport, Maine.) scored 107 points en route to their fourth place finish in the A division. In the B division, the Camel trio comprised of Bitsy Whipple (Plandome, N.Y.), Kim Bolick (Hopkinton, Mass.) and Katie St. George (Marblehead, Mass.) placed fifth with a score of 122 points. Last June, the Connecticut College women place second at the national championship in Cascade Lakes, Ore.

April 22, 2012

Related News & Media

Recent News