Athletic Hall of Fame

The Athletic Hall of Fame, created in 1989, honors those who have brought distinction to themselves and Connecticut College through their achievement, commitment, sportsmanship and leadership in athletics. The Athletic Hall of Fame gallery is in the Charles B. Luce Field House.

Athletic Hall of Fame inducts four alumni

At a ceremony in March 2014, four Connecticut College alumni were inducted to the College’s Athletic Hall of Fame:

  • Kate Kovenock '05 (swimming and diving) — An 11-time All-American, she achieved the first NCAA title in the College’s history by winning the 50-yard freestyle in 2004. She holds school, conference and conference championship records in the 50-, 100- and 200-yard freestyle events.
  • Michael Moccia '90 (ice hockey) — The most prolific player in the program’s history, he scored 78 goals and finished with 221 total points. He recorded 10 points in a game against Skidmore College in 1985, the second-highest total ever in an NCAA Division III men’s hockey game.
  • Tom Burke '81 (soccer, lacrosse and squash) — The lacrosse team’s Most Valuable Player in 1981, he graduated with school career records for goals (78), assists (84) and points (162). He was the first Connecticut College player ever to earn All-New England recognition (honorable mention).  
  • Caroline Twomey Gilbert '86 (field hockey, lacrosse) —She graduated as the College’s all-time leading scorer with 57 points on 26 goals and five assists. A four-year Northeast Field Hockey College All-Star, she was team MVP in both field hockey (1985) and lacrosse (1986).

Nomination form

Anyone can nominate a Connecticut College alumnus/a athlete to the Athletic Hall of Fame. View the eligibility guidelines and bylaws and access the nomination form.

For more information, contact Fran Shields at 860-439-2570 or