Katherine Bergeron became the 11th president of Connecticut College on Jan. 1, 2014. From her first year in office, she has supported the faculty in developing a bold new venture in interdisciplinary education. The resulting vision, called Connections, requires students to create deeper linkages between the work they do in courses, in jobs, in the community, and around the globe, in order to prepare them for leadership in an era of change: liberal arts for the interconnected world.

During Bergeron’s tenure, Connecticut College has received some of the largest gifts in its history, including one $20 million gift to enhance financial aid, career education and athletics, and two $10 million gifts to revitalize Palmer Auditorium into a center for creative performance and research. Other major projects during her tenure have included the renovation of the Charles E. Shain Library, the creation of the Otto and Fran Walter Commons for Global Study and Engagement and the opening of the new Hale Center for Career Development in Fall 2019.

A Phi Beta Kappa graduate of Wesleyan University, Bergeron earned master’s and doctoral degrees in music history from Cornell University and is the author of numerous scholarly publications, including two edited collections and two prize-winning books on French music and culture. Before coming to Connecticut College, she was dean of the college at Brown University.

Bergeron currently serves on the Editorial Advisory Board of “Liberal Education,” the flagship journal of the Association of American Colleges and Universities; on the Executive Committee of the Council of Independent Colleges; on the Board of the Association of American Colleges and Universities; as a commissioner for the New England Commission on Higher Education; and on the Board of Directors of the Eastern Connecticut Symphony Orchestra.