USCGA and CC Concert Bands 'Celebrate Spring!' May 4

The Music Department invites the campus community and the public to 'Celebrate Spring!' with the combined concert bands of Connecticut College and the U.S. Coast Guard Academy on May 4 at 7 p.m. in Evans Hall, as the program opens with John Philip Sousa's rousing march, "The Invincible Eagle." Admission is free. 

The concert continues with "Second Suite in F" by Gustav Holst:
1. March
2. Song Without Words, “I’ll Love My Love”
3. Song of the Blacksmith
4. Fantasia on the “Dargason”

and "La Gitana del Albaicin" (Pasodoble), by Pascual Marquina.

After a brief pause, the concert continues with "Updike’s Science Music" by Brian Holmes, with words by John Updike, and featuring soloist Samantha Talmadge: 

1. Thermodynamics (Lament, for Cocoa)
2. Particle Physics (Cosmic Gall)
3. Chemistry (In Praise of (C10H9O5)x)
4. Hydrodynamics (Bendix)
5. Meteorology (The Descent of Mr. Aldez)
6. Biology (V.B. Nimble, V.B. Quick)

The concert concludes with "Pictures at an Exhibition: Finale," by Modest Mussorgsky, with The Hut on Chicken Legs (Baba-Yaga) and The Great Gate of Kiev.

April 27, 2016