Connecticut College alumni have excelled in fields from medicine to the media. This is a representative sampling of those whose achievements are especially notable.


Business and Industry

Tim Armstrong '93
AOL, chair and CEO

Jim Berrien '74
Partner in the executive search firm of Bentley, Farrell, Ahl and Berrien; past president of G100 Network; Forbes Magazine Group, 1999-2009

Vincent Farrell '96
Digital media expert; Havas Worldwide, global chief content officer

Barbara Shattuck Kohn '72
Principal, Shattuck Hammond Partners, and former chair of the College Board of Trustees

Susan Kronick '73
Federated Department Stores, vice chair

Trish May '75
Venture philanthropist; Athena Partners, founder and CEO

Peter Som '93
Fashion designer

Sally Susman '84
Pfizer Inc., senior vice president & chief communications officer





Debo Adegbile '91 
Prominent lawyer, former acting president and director-council for the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, senior counsel to the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee

John Cohen '83 
Principal deputy undersecretary for intelligence and analysis, counterterrorism coordinator at the U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Nina Elgo '84 
Connecticut's first Asian-Pacific American Superior Court judge

Marie L. Garibaldi '56
First woman to serve on the New Jersey Supreme Court

Dorcas Hardy '68
Commissioner of the Social Security Administration 1986-89

Bruce Hoffman '76
Terrorism expert

Jordan Kaplan '00 
Finance chair for the Democratic National Committee

Drew Ketterer '71
Attorney general, Maine, 1995-2000

Jonathan McBride '92 
Assistant to President Obama; director of White House personnel

Harvey Moseley '72 
Senior astrophysicist, Goddard Space Flight Center, NASA

Suzi Oppenheimer '56
New York state senator

Susan Thomases '65
Attorney, former presidential adviser

Patricia Wald '48 
Federal Judge, retired; member of the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia and member of the Iraq Intelligence Commission


Arts and Entertainment

Ted Chapin '72
Rodgers & Hammerstein Organization, president/executive director

Charles Chun '90

Karen Church '90
CBS Television, vice president for talent and casting

Clap Your Hands Say Yeah (Alec Ounsworth '00, Lee Sargent '00, Robbie Guertin '02, Tyler Sargent '00 and Sean Greenhalgh '02) 

David Dorfman '81
Dancer, professor of dance at Connecticut College

Lee Eisenberg '99
Television screenwriter
(The Office )

Sean Fine '96
Sundance and Academy-Award-winning documentary filmmaker
(War/Dance,  Inocente)

Chris Gifford '81
Executive producer, creator of Nick Jr.'s "Dora the Explorer"

Vance Gilbert '79

Judy Irving '68
Emmy award and Sundance-winning filmmaker

Andre Lee '93
Film producer

Leland Orser '82

Estelle Parsons '49
Academy Award-winning actor

Jessie Vogelson '96
Film and television producer
(No End in Sight)

Kevin Wade '76
Screenwriter (Working Girl, Meet Joe Black)


Scholarship and Education

Alex Brash '81 
President of Connecticut Audubon Society

Edward Burger ’85 
President of Southwestern University and an award-winning math professor

David Foster '77 
Director of the Harvard Forest

Agnes Gund '60
Museum of Modern Art, president emerita

David Haussler '77
University of California - Santa Cruz, director of the Center for Biomolecular Science and Engineering

Linda Lear '62
Author, environmentalist

Laurie Norton Moffat '78
Director/CEO, Norman Rockwell Museum







Non-profit and Advocacy

Beatrice Biira '08
Community Engagement Coordinator at Heifer International; subject of Beatrice’s Goat, a well-known children’s book

Peggy Charren '49
Action for Children's Television, founder

LaShawn R. Jefferson '88 Human Rights Watch, former executive director, women's rights division

Marion Rockefeller Weber '60
Philanthropist and initiator of the Flow Fund Circle





Anita DeFrantz '74
Olympic medalist, rowing; vice president of the International Olympic Committee

Jeff Idelson '86
President, Baseball Hall of Fame

David Gross '88
Commissioner of Major League Lacrosse

Adam Rogowin ’03
Public relations director for the Chicago Blackhawks

Kimberly Williams '90
NFL Network, chief operating officer

Tim Young '92
Olympic medalist, sculling



Writing and Journalism

Michael Collier '76
Poet, director of the Bread Loaf Writers' Conference at Middlebury College

Sloane Crosley '00
Writer and essayist

David Grann '89 Author, "The Lost City of Z"

Joshua Green '94
Senior national correspondent, Bloomberg Businessweek; Boston Globe weekly columnist

Amy Gross '63
O, The Oprah Magazine,
Editor-in-chief, 2000-08

Jay Lauf '86
Publisher, The Atlantic

Christof Putzel '01
Broadcast journalist, winner of student Academy Award for AIDS documentary, Left Behind.

Luanne Rice '77
Novelist (Sandcastles, Beach Girls)

A.B. Stoddard '89
Journalist, political commentator


Medicine and Health

Susan Froshauer '74
Rib-X Pharmaceuticals, president and CEO

Mary Lake Polan '65
Stanford University School of Medicine, chair and professor emeritus, department of gynecology and obstetrics

Ellen R. Vitetta '64
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, director of the Cancer Immunobiology Center