The Environmental Model Committee (EMC) was established in 1969 to provide coordination for the College’s efforts to become a model of environmentalism. The charge of the EMC is as follows:

1. The Committee provides leadership in College-wide environmental planning and implementation by developing policies in support of campuswide sustainability goals, initiating programs and overseeing community environmental education. The Committee advocates for College operations that function as models of sustainability by working on environmental initiatives with the appropriate administrative, faculty and student offices, committees and groups.

2. The committee is specifically concerned with climate action planning for mitigation of carbon emissions and campus climate resiliency; the conservation of energy, water and other natural resources; the minimization of environmental pollution; and reducing the College’s ecological footprint.

Voting members for the 2018-2019 academic year

Margaret Bounds, Assistant Director of Sustainability
Jane Dawson, Faculty, Director of the Goodwin-Niering Center for the Environment
Julia Ferrante, Executive Director of Marketing and Communications
Chad Jones, Faculty Director of the Office of Sustainability
Rich Madonna, VP for Finance and Administration or their designee
Michelle Neely, Assistant Professor of English
Maggie Newell, Student, SGA Sustainability Chair
Geoff Norbert, Assistant Dean of Student Engagement
Maggie Redfern, Assistant Director of the Arboretum
Doug Thompson, Rosemary Park Professor of Physics, Astronomy and Geophysics
3 student representatives to be selected by SGA