For engaging students intellectually

In 2012, the College instituted the Helen Mulvey Faculty Award for Fostering Student Achievement, endowed by an anonymous alumna to honor the late Helen Mulvey, who retired from the College in 1983 as the Brigida Pacchiani Ardenghi Professor Emeritus of History.

The award is presented annually to a faculty member who embodies Mulvey's legendary commitment to engaging students intellectually and teaching them to love learning. It recognizes an assistant professor who regularly offers classes that challenge students to work harder than they thought they could and to reach unanticipated levels of academic achievement.

Recipients of the Helen Mulvey Award:

2023: Ayako Takamori, East Asian languages and cultures

2022: Carla Parker-Athill, biology

2021: Hubert Cook, english

2020: Judy Gomez, psychology

2019: Ariella R. Rotramel, gender, sexuality and intersectionality studies

2018: Virginia Anderson, theater

2017: Monika Lopez-Anuarbe, economics

2016: Tanya Schneider, chemistry

2015: Caroleen Sayej, government and international relations

2014: Afshan Jafar, sociology

2013: Anthony Graesch, anthropology

2012: Cherise Harris, sociology, inaugural recipient