Recognizing high standards of teaching excellence and concern for students

The John S. King Memorial Award for Excellence in Teaching was established by friends, colleagues and former students to recognize those teacher-scholars whose high standards of teaching excellence and concern for students reflect Professor King's ideals.

John S. King was a beloved professor of German who taught at Connecticut College from 1971 to 1995. A devoted and gifted teacher, Professor King was known for his unfailing grace, natural courtesy and generous spirit.

Professor King had a longtime interest in 19th-century German fiction. He was chair of Connecticut College's German department for all but two years from 1979 to 1991. For many years he was in charge of first-year German instruction, a capacity in which he was well-loved for introducing the rich language and literature to hundreds of students.

Professor King received his doctorate and master's degrees in German literature from Brown University and his bachelor's degree in German from Indiana University. He was dean of freshmen at Connecticut College in 1977-78, acting associate dean of the College in 1981-82 and acting dean of the College in 1983-84.

Recipients of the King Award are:

2023: Nina Martin, film studies

2022: Jillian Marshall, psychology

2021: Karen Gonzalez Rice, art history

2020: Sabrina Notarfrancisco, theater

2019: Tobias Myers, classics

2018: Ross Morinfilm studies

2017: Warren Johnson, mathematics

2016: John Tian, government and international relations

2015: Anne Bernhard, biology

2013: Denise Pelletier, art

2012: William Rose, government

2011: Joseph Schroeder, psychology

2010: Simon Feldman, philosophy

2009: Catherine McNichol Stock, American studies

2008: Hisae Kobayashi, East Asian languages and cultures

2007: Derek Turner, philosophy

2006: Ann Sloan Devlin, psychology

2005: Sunil Bhatia, human development

2004: Tristan Anne Borer, government

2003: Peter Leibert, art

2002: Eugene Gallagher, religious studies

2001: Marc Zimmer, chemistry

2000: Stephen Loomis, biology

1999: MaryAnne Borelli, government

1998: Roger Brooks, religious studies

1997: Maureen McCabe, art