Klagsbrun Symposium showcases authors

Art Spiegelman, the Pulitzer Prize-winning writer and artist, delivered the lecture “What the %@&*! Happened to Comics?” as part of the College’s 2011 Daniel Klagsbrun Symposium on Creative Arts and Moral Vision. The symposium is free and open to the public.

The Daniel Klagsbrun Symposium was established in 1989 to create a positive, living memorial to Daniel Klagsbrun, a 1986 graduate of Connecticut College. Through the generosity and commitment of Daniel’s parents, Emilie and Herbert Klagsbrun, the Symposium has brought to the College over the years an amazing array of authors, including Saul Bellow, Adrienne Rich, Elie Wiesel, Sandra Cisneros, Joseph Brodsky, Jhumpa Lahiri, Michael Cunningham, Dorothy Allison, Tobias Wolff and a host of others.

Student poets selected for the Connecticut Student Poetry Circuit

Andrea Amulic '11 was selected as one of five student poets by The Connecticut Poetry Circuit in 2011, a competition in which each college or university in Connecticut nominates a student poet. These students then give readings at various Connecticut colleges and other venues.

Caitlin Scott '10 was selected in 2010. Caitie, as she is known, illustrates the interdisciplinary nature of studying at Connecticut College; she took English courses to develop her craft, but majored in another discipline, religious studies.

Taylor Katz '08 was one of the five student poets who read their poetry on the 2008 Connecticut Poetry Circuit student tour. The group also opened with their readings the The Sunken Garden Poetry & Music Festival on the grounds of the Hill-Stead Museum in Farmington, CT.

In the last fifteen years, Connecticut College students have produced, on average, one honors thesis in poetry each year.

Endowed scholarship for talented writers and scholars

With a generous gift in honor of alumna Louise Rosenstiel Frank, Connecticut College has established a scholarship fund that will help needy students attend our highly selective liberal arts college and pursue majors in literature and writing.